The Rising of Ra

This morning, around 4:30am, I awoke to the realization that I had slept, yet again, in my make-up. I didn’t bother with brushing my teeth and I was still wearing my hoodie. But one good thing remained: my cat, Mab, was curled up against me happily sleeping. I don’t know how long I laid there petting her, but the day was still dark. And frigid. I hadn’t even turned on the fan, because normally I can’t sleep without air brushing against my face no matter how cold it gets. This is why I have so many blankets and throws. Mab got up to play, I turned on my lamp, and opened my book Following the Sun: A Practical Guide to Egyptian Religion by Sharon La Borde but Mab had woken and was attempting to play with my neon yellow highlighter. Here is a guilty confession: I highlight the hell out of my books. I need to, otherwise I will forget and then have to go through the trouble of searching. It just makes my life easier when I’m studying.

Other members of my family were waking up and going about their morning. With arms loaded with books, my sharpie and a precariously tipping cup of tea, I went to the “Pink Room” and found cats all over the sofa. When the sun hit my face as I passed by a window, I felt the tendrils of warm radiant air hit me. Outside everything was gloriously sparkling with a layer of snow. My first thoughts, regardless of the climate difference, were of Ra. Ra who rose after defeating the serpent God Apophis he was born again and riding the sun through the sky.

It really was a beautiful moment. I love winter mornings for that, the way everything looks like it is from a snowy picture book. I think Ra is my preferred Sun God. Though Bel is not too distant, I simply have yet to really commune with him. 

This morning I decided on what my Egyptian and Irish name would be. Ra-Nefer-U means most beautiful sun. And my Irish name, Siofra, meaning elf.

I feel like so much has happened and it isn’t even noon! What a restful way to spend a Sunday.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

