My Yuletide Altar

Image

Some people may think I’m a poor excuse for a Pagan because I celebrate Christmas as well as Yule. I have long since stopped seeing the Christmas season in a Christian way. I do not go to Church for special holiday services, nor do I spread Christian beliefs. What I do, however, is exchange gifts with my family on Christmas morning, enjoy a special breakfast and dinner later in the day. I see the holiday season as a means to living according to the 9 virtues of ADF. Hospitality in particular but also integrity. I enjoy spreading the love and light that the season inspires in all of us. Helping other people and reaching out for assistance when needed brings people together. Whether these are of Pagan origin or not, I could care less. They are positive intentions no matter what spiritual path you follow. Kindness is not bound by religion.

Thanksgiving itself is a mixture of two different traditions: the Native Americans and the God-fearing Pilgrims. Although what happened is romanticized, it is safe to say that they did come together on common ground and the story is supposed to inspire us to look past our differences and see how we’re alike. As Data once said, “We are more alike, then unalike, my dear Captain.”

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Yuletide Altar

  1. greycatsidhe says:

    Everyone has to do what works best for them when it comes to having a mixed-faith family and background. I think it’s better to build bridges and find common ground rather than be a complete scrooge. It’s easier said than done and everyone’s circumstances are different, of course, but kudos to you! And I love your glass cauldrons!

    • I think mixed- faith families are challenging. I noticed today that my mom seems to think I know a lot about Ancient Egypt. Maybe she has caught onto my new spiritual interest. But I am hardly an expert! We were supposed to put our tree up, maybe we can tomorrow. We also have a pet tree and hang goodies on it for the cats and dogs. It is so much fun! And a Christmas tree is actually a pagan symbol. But I’m sure you already know that.

      I love the glass cauldron too! My mom uses them when its taco night, putting cheese, tomato and lettuce in them. When I saw it looked like a cauldron, I snatched one. Hopefully my mom doesn’t miss it. 😉

Leave a Reply

