Nature Spirits & Ice Storm of 2013

I woke up this morning, after hearing the sounds of winter rain hitting my window all night, to find a land glistening under a thick layer of ice. I guess An Calleach was out last night, with her wintry sprites, and made Upstate NY under a state of emergency. The fact that I am able to type this is evidence that I have power and internet access but many are without. I will be praying for everyone affected by the ice storm. Fortunately, most of my friends and family are fine. This is the third Ice Storm I have experienced in my life. I remember the previous two…well, at least the 1998 one. I recall setting up my miniature teepee in the living room and commenced playing with my “imaginary” pet wolf. But my parents came home and took us to mom’s boss’s house. I think we stayed a couple of days before going to the Emerson’s Bed and Breakfast, which had a generator and many bedrooms. It was such a neat place! So quaint. I remember writing by candle light like they did in the old days and felt so cool. The room I was staying in was painted turquoise. The owners had a library of old books, which my sister and I poured over with glee. So it was like a fun vacation more than anything else. I was too young to understand the danger we were in.

Well, the Celebration must go on! I must say, I don’t really know what I’m doing with these 12 Days of Yule. Two of my friends know how to go about it, so I am gleaming some wisdom from them, or as much as I can. I am trying to do it in ways that are true to my beliefs. I don’t know the ADF style by heart…I’ve actually forgot most of what the DP manual says, though I read the whole thing. Keeping it in my memory…well, keeping anything in my memory is kind of a challenge these days. It looks like I will need to re-read it.

As for the Nature Spirits, the deity I chose to work with is Aine, of the Leanan Sidhe. Not because she is a Winter Goddess, but because she is a Queen Sidhe and well, I haven’t encountered any other Irish Winter Deities other than An Cailleach, whom I already worked with. Though she hasn’t been far from my mind, especially with this winter storm. I am going to work with Aine and attempt to communicate or honor the Winter sprites and elves who have assisted An Cailleach. Not out of anger or disappointment, but because forces of nature are embodied in the Sidhe. I feel Fey energy today, bright and warm around me, a tint of green and white and gold. The smell of peppermint. A cold chill followed by giggling. It has been a while since I’ve sensed them, but I feel them all around me now, amused and laughing at our predicament. I can’t help but smile too. This is going to be an interesting day.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

