Tuatha de Dannan and other Fey (Angus Ag)

Image

Winter is well upon us. The trees glisten in a thick layer of ice and the snow also captured by this elemental force as well, making the world around me beautifully desolate. It is dangerous yet sublime. Monday, the county I live in announced a State of Emergency due to an Ice Storm. Thousands were without power, including my family for several hours. In that time I was reading my books, one on Pagan philosophy, one on beliefs and magic in ancient Egypt, and the other book the History of European Paganism. In many ways I feel like a beginner. I don’t know if what I am doing is the right way to go about things. Is there a wrong or right way, when it comes down to it? Is the ADF ritual standard the only way to worship the Gods? I don’t think it is.

I believe there are many acceptable ways of honoring the Three Kindreds. And when I focus so much on the ritual, I realize I’m not seeing the forest for the trees. I am not knocking ritual, I believe its very important, especially as it makes this spiritual path more of a religion. Though I personally prefer “Spiritual” over “Religious”. I guess in some ways I agree with ADF, in other ways, I don’t. Which is fair enough. When I was Christian I felt the same way. In any case, I will move on to today’s focus: The Tuatha de Dannan and the Fey.

Image

 

The Tuatha de Dannan (children of the Goddess Danu)  are a race of Fey that once ruled Ireland before the Milesians came and conquered them. It is said that they came from the sky, and upon defeat descended into the mounds or Otherworld, to become the many Faery races, the Sidhe. Though personally, I believe Nature Elementals already lived there and that there were other Fairy races that already existed in the Underworld before the Tuatha de Dannan arrived. Some Fey live in this dimension, and other Fey live in alternate dimensions and can cross into this world. It is believed by some that the Fey are Fallen Angels. Others believe they are pure nature energies. Some are visible, most unseen without The Sight. I was blessed, for whatever reason, with being able to see these beings. They have been a part of my life for so long and were one of the traditions that lured me into Paganism. I am by no means an expert on The Fey, as I am always learning, sometimes by surprise!

Today I will try and communicate with some of them, as several have been popping in the house and following me around. I need to ask them what they want so I can honor them in the best ways possible. The Fey are very important to me, and have been so for a long time. To find that Nature Spirits are worshiped in ADF made it a strong pull for my interests.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

