Hospitality And Gratitude

ImageHospitality, one of the Nine Virtues of A Druid Fellowship (ADF), can be explored during the holiday season. In fact, Christmas and Yule go hand in hand with hospitality, as many relatives come to visit during during this season more so than any other holiday. Whether you celebrate Christmas as a Christian holiday or not, gift giving is a staple for all the different religious practices. Many times gifts are exchanged, a gift for a gift, which is the moral way of practicing gift giving. However, it is understood if some people are financially unable to do a gift exchange, but often times just having their presence is a gift in and of itself.

I think that gratitude is also an important aspect of these festivities. The gifts we receive cost money and time, and those who participate should practice gratitude as well. There are many ways to say, “Thank you”. The most easy is to literally thank the person with words. Other ways are to help out in the kitchen cooking Christmas dinner, or helping to clean up afterward. Another form of appreciation is spending time together.

Today I chose Manannan Mac Lir. I do not remember why, but I know very little about this deity. I have really dropped the ball with the 12 Days of Yule. I guess I was not prepared and I don’t know how to celebrate properly. I am still very new to ADF. there is so much or m to learn. If nothing else, I have learned a lot about the different Irish Celtic Gods and Goddesses. So something good is coming from it, but I feel I am lacking in a lot of ways. Other people who have been on the path longer make everything look so easy. I guess we all start somewhere, including them. So maybe my progress is not as pitiful as I think. And that’s all I am going to say about this. I do not want to spoil the day with negativity. I want to harbor hospitality and gratitude.

I was actually a bit upset. My sister (one of our guests) came out of the bathroom saying it was disgusting and that she needed bleach. I was confused but anyway I located some soft bleach and followed her into the bathroom where she kept complaining about how repulsive and disgusting the toilet was. Now, I scrubbed and cleaned that toilet thoroughly yesterday. I clean the mirrors and the floor and scooped the litter box. Apparently one of the cats got poop on their paws and walked all over the toilet. I was furious because of the way she carried on after I painstakingly cleaned the bathroom by myself. I guess her attitude is excusable, after being angry I felt really bad. But my sister is a germophobe…literally. She also has OCD where she has to have clean hands. Anyway, I tried really hard to make the place clean and hospitable and I feel like I sort of failed in my attempts.

Wow. More negativity. I am going to smile and put on a good mood and enjoy my day! So be it!

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

