New Years Day

Welcome to 2014 everyone! Another year behind us and an opportunity to grow. I may have failed at doing the 12 Days of Yule, but you know…I also learned a lot and I look forward to trying again this year. I should have my spirituality figured out by then. I feel that my focus has been with Druidry more so than Kemetic Paganism. But I think Egypt has a different New Years Day. I know for a fact that Egypt’s seasons occur at different times than ours. And I have yet to come across much that has to do with changing of the New Year. They just seemed to change Pharaohs and deities (and each city along the Nile seemed to have different beliefs in the Gods. Like, a cult would spring up on Memphis and a different one in Thebes. Anyway, I am going to try to find a better balance. The LaBorde book I got for Christmas has morning, midday and evening prayers for Ra that I will try to memorize. They aren’t very long.

I changed my altar over to a winter theme, with Holda and An Calleach in mind. I got the materials on sale at Michael’s a few years ago.

Image

I still have yet to decide it I want to follow through on the DP work. I am seeing that I don’t have to be an ADF Druid in order to be a Druid. But I like the social aspects of it and have made some wonderful friends. Plus, ADF has good social standing and is considered to be a legit Druid path acknowledged by others in the Pagan community. Not that this should be motivation to join, but its nice to know it is viewed in high esteem.

But there are some thing about the community that I feel iffy about. Mainly that those beyond of the DP training seem to be rather…elitist. I am afraid to ask questions because these people are so far advanced than me that I’m usually at a loss or embarrassed. And the greatest way to learn new things is to ask questions. But I don’t like being treated like I’m stupid. Well, not everyone is elitist or condescending, there are some wonderful folks in ADF and I enjoy speaking to them.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Years Day

  1. greycatsidhe says:

    I know what you mean by the elitist thing. It is unfortunate, but you’ll find that in most communities unfortunately. People like Mike Dangler and Drum have been very helpful to me without making me feel silly or stupid.

  2. Yeah you will always get people like that no matter where you go. That why many prefer to be solitary. I think its a healthy balance to have your own private spiritual practices and then more social ones. We need to feel connected to people with similar beliefs. They are people who can understand and support you. We are very social creatures. But sometimes we put on different faces, one while we are alone and another for when we’re with people. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing or to make people sound two faced, we just all wear different masks in different situations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

