Two More Additions

My Bast incense burner came in, and I think it fits lovely with the rest of the shrine. I am very fond of Bast. I haven’t used it yet, but I plan to when I do the Opening of the Mouth ritual with my Isis statue and then with Bast. I’ve decided that I want to buy a collection of small Egyptian deities that can easily be placed on my altar and removed when I am finished. Of course, this collection I want is around $50 so I’m not sure I can afford it. In any case,

I decided to buy a sistrum that was made in Egypt with recycled bottle caps.

ImageAnd also bought an Egyptian necklace, also made in Egypt.

ImageI can’t wait to use my sistrum in rites,and to wear my necklace. I have a few tops that would look lovely with it. Now, to look up some of the Gods and Goddesses and learn how to pronounce their names. I need an Egyptian journal for this stuff, as my memory is so poor and I would feel like an idiot before my Gods if I cannot even pronounce their names.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two More Additions

  1. What a lovely necklace!

    If you need help with pronouncing a Kemetic name, I can help. 🙂 You should also be advised that, since we don’t have the vowels from the ancient Egyptian language, we really don’t know *how* the names were originally pronounced. We may be mangling names and not know it. And yet the Netjeru still answer. Just something to think about.

    As for Opening the Mouth, how did you get prepared for that? How did you get prepared for TWO? It’s such a huge responsibility and commitment (you essentially become a high priest!) I haven’t been able to figure out what to do to get ready for it. Tips? Tricks? Could I ask how long you’ve been devoted to Bast and Isis/Aset? Did They tell you They were wanted you to Open Their statues, or did you ask Them for permission? So many questions, please forgive me. D:

    • Wow. Yes a lot of questions! I am actually new to Kemeticism. I do not really know what I am doing, I am simply following what I’ve been reading in the books I bought: Circle of the Sun: Rites and Celebrations For Egyptian Pagans and Kemetics by Sharon LaBorde, Following the Sun: A Practical Guide to Egyptian Religion also by LaBorde. Egyptian Paganism for Beginners by Jocelyn Almond & Keith Seddon and finally Religion and Magic in Ancient Egypt by Rosalie David.

      I am a novice. There is a lot for me to learn. I found an Opening of the Mouth ritual in the book by Almond and Seddon. I had no idea it was such a big deal, or that you need permission from the Gods and Goddesses to do it. The book didn’t mention that. I did notice that the Egyptian Paganism for Beginners book is pretty much Egyptian Wicca. It does say is a simplified rite compared to the original. If you want to know where to start, try consulting the deity you plan to work with. 🙂 See what he or she says you need to do. I would guess purification, invocation, offerings and prayer might help? That sounds good to me!

      Would you happen to know any name dedications? I have chosen my Kemetic name but I don’t know if you have to go through a ritual with it before your Gods/Goddesses.

      ~ Nathifa

      BTW. Thanks for reading my blog!

      Thank you for informing

      • Rats, and here I thought I was going to find an expert. 😉 The gods will probably send me an expert when I’m ready. LOL.

        I had no idea about the Opening ceremony’s importance at the beginning, either. When as a novice I asked about it, the answer I got was basically: “Noooooooooo. Nyet. Nein. Stop. Halt. Do not pass go. Try again in, oh, maybe four or five years, if not more.” Three years in and I predict another five *at least* before giving it any real consideration. I don’t know how to prepare for Opening for the long haul. D: Yeah, ask Bast (I’d Open a statue for Her), and then what? Gah.

        So yeah, the Opening of the Mouth Ceremony is a big deal. It says, “I am ready to commit myself to your service every day or at whatever frequency we both agree on for a very, very long time even if I’m tired, bored, in a hurry, or just don’t feel like doing anything.” At the least, you’re supposed to do a lot of ritual. 0_0 Opened statues need food and water offerings every day (traditionally, thrice a day). Traditionally, statues were also given makeup, jewelry, cloth, and incense. Opened hieroglyphs were, I believe, at least given incense.

        By the way, look up Richard Reidy’s Eternal Egypt. The first part of the book is too daunting for beginners, but the rest is pretty usable and Reidy’s work is considered a staple in the Kemetic community. Take a look at his version of the Opening of the Mouth Ceremony. You’ll understand why a lot of Kemetics think twice about performing it (aside from service considerations)!

        Almond’s work is. . . not so good for non-Wiccans. LaBorde is much better.

        I don’t know of any name dedications that stem from native pharaonic Egypt, though the Greco-Roman sources *might* have something. Personally, I just adopted a name and started using it. Never had any problems.

        Siofra–is that your Kemetic name? I see Si–son–and Ra–the god–but don’t know what the “of” refers to. Could you please tell me?

  2. I am glad we talked about this. I didn’t realize it was such a commitment, though I can definitely see myself being that dedicated down the road. At present, I’m just too new to this path. I appreciate and am excited to have made an acquaintance with another Kemetic Pagan. I have had trouble finding a community for it. I really like LaBorde’s work. And yeah, the Almond book just doesn’t really resonate with me due to its Wiccan approach. I think I will set that one aside. And thank you for the book tip! I will try to work it within my budget.

    Siofra (pronounced shee-fra) is my Druid name which means “Elf” or “Fairy”, it is Irish. 🙂 Which is probably why you were confused. My Kemetic name is Nathifa, which means “Pure”. I am a practicing Druid, as I’m sure you figured out by now. I’m also a novice in Druidry. So far walking these paths have been immensely fulfilling.

    How long have you been practicing? How did you start on this path? As ridiculous as it sounds, I got into it due to the TV show Ancient Aliens. Not because I believe in the theory but because of the history they discuss and the mystery shrouding the remains of the ancient civilization. That is when I heard the call of Isis. I feel a very deep connection to her. I’m not sure why, but I love her.

    ~ Nathifa

Leave a Reply

