My Fairy Cat And I

Image

Four years ago sometime in March, I visited a farm with my mother. She was an acquaintance to the owner and was either buying or selling a goat. I followed them into the barn where the goats were being kept, which didn’t interest me in the slight. What did catch my attention were the kittens running around the barn. There must have been 15-20 of them. Being a cat person, I walked around and looked at them. But this one, a small black kitten, started following me around. I could resist so I picked her up and she started purring right away. My heart was taken.

During the entire exchange between my mom and the farmer, I spent my time with the little black kitten. Even when it was time to go, I mustered up the most pathetic expression and asked if I could take the kitten him. She stared at me for a few moments, and then asked the farmer about it. He said he needed the cats to catch mice. So we made an arrangement that we would give him two cats in exchange for the one.

I couldn’t believe that my mother was going to let me take a kitten home. I had been so unhappy, especially after my diagnosis. Medicine and therapy were helping, but my mom thought maybe me having a kitten would help my progress. Whatever she thought…she couldn’t have been more right.

I got home and debated on what to name her. A few names came to mind but my favorite was Mab, named after the Fairy queen. For a while I kept her in my bedroom and didn’t allow her to venture out in the rest of the house. It was up to me to feed her and clean her little box. But I didn’t mind. She brought me such joy at a time when everything else in my life was bleak.

To this day, she continues to bring me joy and happiness. We are very close. She treats me like I’m her mommy and I am a proud mother.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Fairy Cat And I

  1. Eilish Niamh says:

    Awe, how adorable. Animals are great healers and your furry baby sounds like a love!

    • She really is a love. She’s so affectionate, especially with my dad and I. My mom hates her and my brother dislikes her too. But she is more precious to them than anything else in the world. Bast said she likes my cats.

  2. She is a love. 🙂 I adore her so much. I usually wake up to her on my bed and in the morning she follows me around. At the moment she is relaxing next to my feet. I agree completely that animals are therapeutic. I would have been lost without her.

Leave a Reply

