Wide Awake

Pre-sunrise and I am blanketed in warm cozy darkness, an hour or so from Zep Tepi, the rising of Ra in the morning, rebirth, resurrection. I have yet to memorize prayers for Ra, but that should not be an excuse. I can compose my own prayers, yet I have not. But I always take a moment to greet the sunrise and my thoughts are of him. I am not sure why I am drawn to him, just as I do not completely comprehend the relationship I have with Isis. When you called to me I was so deeply moved and felt an incredible feeling of devotion.

Many years ago, in ancient times, I recall memories of being an Egyptian boy. I do not know what city I was in (possibly Thebes), but I worked for a Scribe. He did not pay me much but I took the job very seriously and enjoyed having some money to spend,as the rest of it probably went to my family. I remember narrow streets with clothing hung up in lines between buildings. Carts and peddlers shared the street with me. It seemed that the economy was doing well. When I asked Isis which Dynasty I had lived in, she told me the 9th. There is not a lot of information about it, as nothing particularly memorable occurred. That is all I remember.

Still darkness cloaks the land. I do not like the dark days of winter. When we are blessed with sunlight, the air is usually frigid as the clouds help keep in the heat. It is a bitter deception. Sometimes I find it hard to imagine what Egypt might be like, as I live in a very different climate. With all the snow we have gotten this year, its difficult for me to conceive of the desert. Perhaps snow is like sand in some respects, there is much of both! We have had a serious blizzard and an ice storm so far this year. There are warnings of flooding because a lot of snow melted off and the river is gushing dangerously. I would not see flood waters here, but there are many places where it could be particularly dangerous. Nonetheless it reminds me of the Inundation.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

