Door Open To Demons

My mother recently visited family in her old hometown and stayed with my Uncle B. who is a Fundamentalist Christian. Somehow my mom and him got to discussing my spiritual practices. How this happened, I am not sure and my mother claims she doesn’t remember. In any case, my Uncle told her that, by allowing me to worship the way I do, she leaves the door open for demons to enter his house.

I dislike this Uncle. He uses religion as an excuse to abuse people, including his mentally disabled son. I could really care less about what he thinks of me and my religion. I’m shocked he hasn’t called and tried to save me. I think I might give him the middle finger. How can he be so narrow minded about a beautiful spirituality that I practice. I don’t judge him for going to church on Sundays.

I also think my mother feels awkward about my spiritual pursuits. She doesn’t understand, though she isn’t calling it evil, either. My dad thinks its cool that I’m a Druid, and he is a Christian! He doesn’t lecture me anymore like he use to. And I don’t think he realizes that I’m Kemetic, but I bet he would find that cool as well. I use to hate it when he pushed his religion on me. I think it was our journey (or adventure) from New York to Texas that really made him realize I wasn’t Christian.

We were in a Mexican restaurant and he began talking about Christianity and Social Work (what I was studying), and I simply lost my temper. I started yelling at him that he didn’t know what he was talking about regarding Social Work and that I believed in Science over religion…at least where Christianity is involved. Everyone in the restaurant got quiet and stared…which is then when I recalled I was in the Bible Belt. My Dad was speechless. A person can only take so much! I figured being Pagan, pansexual, liberal and a Yankee could only lead to me getting lynched.  Of course, that didn’t happen but sometimes it surprises me that it didn’t. In any case, I am:

Image

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Door Open To Demons

  1. Eilish Niamh says:

    I understand. Sorry you have such a close minded uncle. I’m pretty out with my family about being a druid. My dad also thinks it’s cool. My mom used to insist that I was really Irish Catholic and didn’t know it. I was raised Catholic, but am definitely far far from that now. So I’d tell her she was half right (because her side of the family is Irish.) Then she said I was “going through a phase.” After eight years of said phase, she’s decided I’m serious and is much more accepting. People have really strange reactions to spiritualities that don’t fit the American norm.trying

    • I think my mom thought my spirituality was a phase. We just disagree on so many things. I don’t care what she thinks any more. I don’t care what my Uncle thinks. I’ve had it with all this nonsense. I’m just going to ignore them and do my own thing. Haha, sorry I had a bad day and am very frustrated with real life BS. Thank you for the comment, I’m glad your mother came around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

