The First Occasion

ImageZep Tepi is an ancient Egyptian creation myth that involves the rise of life from the primordial waters of Nut, a water God symbolic of the Nile. A few powerful Gods were created from this waters, known mostly as Ra, Amum, Horas and Khepri.

Khepri was seen as the rising sun, as Egyptians likened the Dung Beetle, also known as a Scarab Beetle, rolling dung as being similar to the God Khepri rolling the sun toward mid-day.  Ra was viewed as the sun at mid-day, and Amun seen as the sun at the end of the day, setting back into the earth and primordial waters. Here are a few prayers to say at morning, noon and at sunset, taken from the book “Circle of the Sun: Rites and Celebrations For Egyptian Pagans and Kemetics” by Sharon LaBorde, 2012:

Morning Address to Khepri:

Come in peace Khepri, Bull of His Mother.

Come in peace, Khepri, sweeping of shoulder.

Come in peace, Khepri, Greatest God.

Come in peace, Khepri, golden of jubilation.

Midday Address to Ra:

Come in peace, Ra, the Horus of the Horizons.

Come in peace, Ra, Lord of the Ennead (or Nine).

Come in peace, Ra, Greatest God.

Come in peace, Ra, appearing in jubilation.

Evening Address to Atum:

Come in peace, Atum, He Who is in Nun.

Come in peace, Atum, at rest.

Come in peace, Atum, eternally renewing.

Come in peace, Atum, Limitless One.

Alternate Address to Amun-Ra:

Come in peace, Amun-Ra, Greatest God.

Come in peace, King of the Gods.

Come in peace, Lord of Thebes.

Come in peace, Lord of Appearances.

Image

It surprises me, that the God I feel connected to the most, is Khepri. Anyone that knows me well, is fully aware of how much I dislike insects and spiders. It is a deep aversion that I doubt I’ll ever be able to cease. But when it comes to Khepri, I feel safe and comforted. He lacks that all imposing God attitude (at least with me), and is much more gentle than Ra or Amun-Ra. This does not mean I dislike Ra or Amun-Ra, it simply means that I have developed a deeper relationship with Khepri. I find artistic representations of Scarab beetles to be cute and endearing. I’m not sure how I would react encountering a real one. I seem to find beetles make me run away screaming at times. All I know, is that when I wear my Khepri pendant, I feel  safe and comforted from my fears. He brings illumination to the world, and into my life, touching rays of sun on the dark corners, bringing awareness and enlightenment.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

