Depression…

Is like a dense black fog that embraces your mind. How does one fight through something that so thoroughly clogs all your thought processes? Sluggish with exhaustion, I’m not certain how I made it through the day. My mind was so out of focus, exhausted and wishing to sleep. My supervisor told me to take a breather and go outside, maybe the chilled air would wake me up. It helped, but did not alleviate my symptoms entirely. But the rush of cold felt good, in my hoodie and sneakers. I wish I could have soaked the melted snow up through my shoes and into my body. I jumped back and forth between being too hot, or too cold throughout the day. My clean checker board hoodie, with the softest of fabrics lining the inside.

Dinner was too filling, though good. I took my meds and am now drinking a liter of water because the medications give me severe dry mouth. Tea sounds nice, but it also dries out the mouth. Still, I find such sweet solace in Green Jasmine Tea. One of my favorite types of tea. My other favorite flavors include English Breakfast Tea, Irish Breakfast Tea, Earl Grey, Honey Ginseng, and Brown Rice mixed with Green Tea. I also love the Chinese tea that Paul bought for me, its all in Chinese so you’re guess is as good as mine. Oh! And I love peppermint tea, especially on an unsettled stomach. It works wonders to relieve cramps and stomach aches, and helps eliminate gas. I recommend it to everyone.

My depression has somewhat lifted but I am still tired. Then why am I awake? Because I have insomnia and I might as well be productive here instead of wasting hours trying to fall into a deep slumber. But I don’t know what to do with my self. Perhaps watch some classic Battlestar Galactica. I have to finish watching it because I want to move on to the 1980s season, then onto the new…well, it was new some years ago, but yeah, the most recent Battlestar Galactica.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Depression…

  1. Well, we have two things in common – a love of tea and a love of Battlestar Galactica! I’ve gone off Earl Grey for a while, but I’m sure it will come back into favour soon. Right now I’m drinking Russian Caravan, Russian Earl Grey (lighter on the bergamont), very nice English Breakfast and Orange Ceylon Pekoe. Peppermint’s always a good go-to choice, as are fruity herbals. I went through a phase of rose-scented teas last year, but now find them too sweet.
    Hope your insomnia passes. Enjoy BG!

    • I also go through phases with tea. 🙂 I had an Earl Grey addiction too, a part of my Star Trek fandom. And yes, I have put the tea in a microwave to heat it up, and saying, “Computer. Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.” I’m a hopeless geek. 😉 I tried the Russian Caravan tea, it was very unique and interesting! I think my dad finished it off a few months ago. Right now I’m on a Green Jasmine tea kick. And yes, rose tea is a little too sweet for me as well. I think when its balanced with other flavors it can be quite good. It’s nice to meet another tea fanatic. Have you seen the 1978 season of Battlestar Galactica? I love it. I can’t believe they didn’t do a second season! How disappointing. My favorite characters are Adama and Starbuck. 🙂

      • I’ve seen a few episodes, but not the whole series. I have seen all the recent series, though, including Caprica, which I quite enjoyed.
        I’m remembering another mix I used to really like: 2 parts Earl Grey to one part raspberry to one part … green? I’m not sure! I’ll have to get experimenting again.
        Another favourite home mix is equal measures of plain black and green teas with seasonal dried fruit mixed in. I make it in a plunger and leave it to steep for a while, to build up a great flavour. Yum!

Leave a Reply

