No Title

Winter paws it’s way across the land,

ginger steps in spectacular dance.

There is something hypnotic about

watching the snow fall,

dancing as it ebbs and flows.

I cannot remember a more

vivid winter, except perhaps in

childhood memories,

The past is a place of angels and demons,

a mental state I do not wish to dwell in.

But memories, how they come,

where do you go when you

cannot escape them?

They build up like garbage

needing to be emptied.

I decide to live somewhere else,

in the present and perhaps the future.

How I will ever manage to achieve my goals

seems like an impossible dream,

Be steady, solemn girl,

Life births surprises that no one can foretell.

For now I sit with the snow and

let it settle around me,

a pure blanket of tiny crystals

each one bringing me joy

in it’s uniqueness.

Here I can settled with the snow

like a wise Buddhist monk,

slow my mind,

and dwell in precious moments

that never seem to cease.

ย 

I know I’ve been writing a lot about winter and snow lately. For us in Upstate NY, winter is in full motion and probably won’t end until sometime in March, usually around the Equinox. Once spring comes near, my writing will no doubt change. As a Druid I work by the seasons. Brighid is a major source of inspiration for me right now. Ever since I opened the doors to have her in my life.

While my parents are gone, I’m thinking of doing a short ritual, for both my Druid path and my Kemetic one. I love my sistrum and have found it a valued tool in my Egyptian spirituality.

ย 

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Title

  1. Education time: if you don’t mind, would you tell me what a Kemetic Pagan is/does? Thanks, Siofra. Of course, i could always google it, but I always prefer to get my answers from real people if possible ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello Bree,
      I don’t mind the question at all. A Kemetic Pagan practices ancient Egyptian spirituality, or tries to at the best of their ability, relying on what has been left behind and translated. I try to address the Gods at morning, noon, and night, as there are a different God for each. I pray to Isis regularly and perform rituals when I feel the need to bond. Isis is pretty much my deity of choice, but I do work with and honor Khepri as well. I am pretty new to the path, so I don’t have all the answers, but I hope this was somewhat helpful. ๐Ÿ™‚

      ~ Siofra (Or Nathifa which is my Kemetic name)

      • Thank you so much! I have spent a bit of time in Egypt, mostly travel but some work among refugees in Cairo waiting (hoping!) to find a place to go to. My contacts there were mainly Coptic Christians, who weren’t much into the pagan gods of their land, but who themselves are a persecuted minority, as I’m sure you’re aware.
        I love walking around the very old places in Egypt, and I also love the different relationship Egyptians have with these monuments. For example, it was just mindblowing to see oil stains atop a large stone block. Its top was flat, but some sides were carved with heiroglyphs. I asked my friend why there were oilstains on it. He explained that locals use it as a convenient place to hoist car engines onto and work on them!
        What to us is one thing, is to them part of their landscape. I’m not saying I approve or disapprove, I just appreciate the difference in attitude.
        Thank you so much, Nathifa (I’ll use your Kemetic name here, as this comment has a very Egyptian flavour!)

  2. I have never been to Egypt and I doubt I will ever get the chance to visit. A civilization as old as Egypt would have a different attitude to what we would view as sacred. Naturally I have a spiritual approach to such places, but it doesn’t bother me that the people there treat it as part of the landscape as you said. The worshiping of the ancient Gods is, I’m fairly sure, out of style. Kemetics try to bring forth a rebirth of those spiritual practices, but from my experience, many of us aren’t even Egyptian! My family line is traced back to Western and Eastern Europe. I do, however, have a past life memory of being an Egyptian boy during the 9th Dynasty. I use to work for a scribe, mostly carrying his work and delivering it to various places. I feel like it was about the same status as a newspaper boy of our culture.

    I was, however, able to visit Stonehenge, Avebury, Salisbury Hill and a wood henge while I was in England back in 2005. I’m dying to return, as England felt like home. I have a past life memory from there as well, though it is a very depressing one. I was a journalist who never married or had children. I was also an alcoholic, to the point where I developed a permanent red nose from over drinking. It was during the Industrial Revolution. Smog and soot was everywhere. I use to ride the trains to work. I always sat alone and never talked to anyone. And I died a miserable, lonely old man. But that is only one of my past lives there. I had one during the megalithic period in a much more simple society. I remember being happy, having a lot of children and my husband and I loved each other very much.

    I’m sorry, hopefully this doesn’t bore you. I don’t even know if you believe in past lives. Forgive me if I seem like an idiot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~ Nathifa

Leave a Reply

