Spring and Thoughts

Spring is drawing near. I can  see it in the way that the dogs shed their fur, in the spotting of spiders coming back to life. I have spotted Canadian Geese returning from their summer homes. This week, however, the weather will be frigid. I cannot wait until the warmer weather arrives. I miss going outside. And I tire of having to emerge from my house in 10 degree or less temperatures. I am also tired of my winter clothes. I want tank tops and shorts…and laying down on my Green Man blanket under the heat of the sun, next to my special tree where I like to build Fairy Houses. Well…soon enough!

I haven’t been spiritually active in several days. Never did the simple devotional. I haven’t done an Iru either. I hope Isis still feels connected to me, and Khepri too. But I am also interested in working more with the Tuatha de Dannan  and the Goddess Danu. Which is why I am looking forward to the Spring Equinox. I love me some Nature Spirits. In one of the Druid books I’m reading, I’m supposed to go out in nature everyday, rain or shine or snow. Well…obviously this author is not from the norther-east of the USA. The book was written by a British author and goes according to England’s seasons and temperatures. Kind of hair to access nature when the snow goes up to your waist just to get back there. Though I suppose I could try some snow shoes…! But yeah, its not snowing then its 10 degrees or less. No way am I going for a walk in such frigid temperatures. 

My dad insists on walking his dog EVERY day, no matter what temperature or how much snow. He told me that the cold sometimes hurts Cloe’s feet and I was like, “Then why are you taking her for a walk when you know that?” He said, “Well, she has to get her exercise or she’ll get fat.” I was like, “…..It won’t make her fat or kill her to miss a walk every now and then, especially when the temperatures are simply too cold for her health. But he doesn’t listen to me. If she gets frostbite or sick, that’s his problem.

Speaking of sick…I think I’m coming down with a cold. Everyone else went through the illness, except me. Somehow my stress ridden, highly medicated body is tough enough to fight off a cold. Crossing my fingers here in hopes that it won’t happen.

Alright it is time to go to work. I’d rather stay in here where its nice and toasty, with my little Mab to keep me company. She slept on my legs all night. What a darling.

 

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring and Thoughts

  1. Oh I have been thinking of all my north American friends this horrible winter! Whereas down here in south east Australia we’ve had fires, searing heat, etc. What a crazy space the planet is in right now.

  2. I know! It is crazy…and so fascinating to think that we share this world and climates can be totally different! Hell, a horrible snow storm hit an hour and a half from where I live. But we didn’t get any of it. It varies from town to town. We’ll be getting a hot summer too, though not as hot as where you live. 🙂

Leave a Reply

