Riding As A Druid

Image

I am reading a book about Druidry from a British author. Most of the information and setting takes place in England.Sometimes I have trouble relating to the work and it was designed for a British backdrop. One of the key parts of this book is spending time out in nature, rain or shine. Well, she doesn’t seem to realize that winter for us in Upstate NY is frigid, snowy and lacks sunshine. We got a blizzard and an ice storm this year, and today the temperature is – 10 degrees, or possibly colder if there is windchill.

Needless to say, I’m not going outside to walk if its 10 degrees and below, which it has been. Soon it will warm up to the 20s or 30s, but until then…I am going to refrain from being outdoors. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy Nature or connect with it. I commute half an hour to work, as during the trip I watch the countryside go by and meditate on it (no I’m not the one driving). I feel myself connecting to the Earth as I watch the trees. I connect to water as I gaze at the fields of snow, which are crops during the rest of the year. I connect to the sky when I stare up at the clouds or pristine blue of the sky. I watch how the wind makes the naked branches quake. And finally, I feel the sunlight on my face. I look for markers that are naturally made, instead of man made. I sense how the Earth is gradually waking up, the trees stretching and yawning.

I may not be outside, per say, but that doesn’t mean I can’t experience these connections. I look forward to spending more time outside as the temperatures warm up. I am looking forward to it.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Riding As A Druid

  1. greycatsidhe says:

    You got it, sister!

Leave a Reply

