Barak and Michelle Obama

I am deviating from my usual posting topic because I have encountered some of the most ridiculous accusations against Michelle and Barak Obama. This is inspired by a conversation on one of my spiritual websites that are supposed to be working toward the light and goodness of the world. They accused Barak of being the anti-Christ with “irrefutable evidence” and are also claiming that Michelle is actually a male-to-female transgendered woman.

To begin with. I am Pagan and do not believe there is or will ever be, an anti-Christ. But this topic still bothers me because people seem to only focus on things he hasn’t done or is doing wrong, and now acknowledging the accomplishments he has made. For example, I voted for him because he promised to end “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” from our military. He did that. It was a milestone for Civil Rights and the LGBTQ community. Whenever I bring this up to Obama bashers, they say, ” Well why should I care? I’m straight. It didn’t effect me at all.” What kind of BS is that?! ANY Civil Rights achievement should be honored and praised.

I know this is an old argument and people are tired of it being brought up, but there still is racism in the United State. I encountered it in undergrad as well as in grad school. I studied it in undergrad, by taking a course called Race and Ethnic  Studies. I’ve seen it in small towns and in cities during my travels. I am currently in an interracial relationship with a man who was born in China. I notice the ways some people stare at us while we hold hands in public. Racism continues to be a problem in America. Some say Obama is a Muslim. Why should that matter either? He is free to believe in whatever religion he wants, as a part of our constitution. Being Muslim doesn’t make you evil by default.

Now…this ridiculous claim about Michelle Obama. I agree that she is a masculine woman, but I also still think she is very beautiful. So what if she is transgender (though I disagree), does that make her any less of a person? When I see the Obama family photos, all I notice is how happy they look. I’m not focusing on Michelle’s imperfections. We had a very idealized unrealistic notion as to what beauty is in the US. So she doesn’t fit the standards, so what? There ARE masculine women. That just a part of reality. It doesn’t mean they were once a man. We also have feminine men who get ridiculed as well. And look at Lady GaGa and the belief that she was once a man. She has actually always been a she.

I’m not going to lose sleep over these accusations, but I needed somewhere to vent how ridiculous I think they are and how I expected more from a supposedly spiritual community.

One of them suggested that in the next election, people are going to vote to the Right. I personally dislike the two party system (I know there are other parties, but these two dominate American politics. George Washington warned us against this. And I understand we. As we stand divided between the two sides and fight with each other instead of getting work done. I don’t know how to change it or make it better, but we need change. Look at how the government shut down for a few months. That was ridiculous! We need to stop fighting each other and find compromises where both parties can achieve something.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barak and Michelle Obama

  1. American politics baffles me (as I’m sure Australian politics baffles others – e.g. our conservative party is called the Liberal party!). I’ve never seen Michelle Obama as a masculine figure, only a strong one – and to me, there is a difference; but, come on, she’s smart, she’s committed to doing genuinely good work – or so it seems to me, as I observe her campaign for healthy eating among children – and, probably most importantly, she’s not actually the president! She only just happens to me married to him! But then again, we don’t have a presidential system here in Australia, so I might be immune to all the cultural nuances that role carries.
    As for racism: sheesh, I wish I could say we do better down under. But indigenous Australians’ life expectancy is still years below the rest of the nation’s. If I watch the wrong TV station (and I try hard not to) I’m bombarded by thinly veiled racist messages, and stories about rednecked idiots protesting for a white Australia (groan).
    I guess many of us are still trying to work towards a more tolerant, compassionate world, and we’ve made great strides forward, but still have some way to go. Solidarity, sister!

    • I avoid the news stations on TV because they are all biased, especially Fox News. My parents have been watching it lately and I always yell at them that its the Republican channel. Well, you can lead a horse to water but can’t make them drink. *shrugs*

      I was deeply moved by the musician Archie Roach, he is one of my favorites, especially with “They Took The Children Away.” The same thing happened here. We took the Native American children from their communities, dressed them like White people, forbade them to speak their native tongue (and punished them brutally when they did speak it). We cut their hair, which is sacrilegious to most Native Americans. These children were abused, raped and forced them to be White men. When the children were brought back to their communities, they were completely alienated. But they couldn’t make it in the white world either, so they had no place to fit in. The damage was done. It’s a tragic chapter in American history, and don’t get me started on slavery. I feel like we owe these Ethnic peoples. But I could include the Chinese and Irish, who were also greatly discriminated again, and also Latinos and especially natives from Mexico. Just look at our borders before 911: Texas-Mexican border: fence with armed forces to stop alien immigration across the border and check cars. Then look at the American-Canadian border: stopping stations that pass you through without checking the car. No fence. Well, illegal immigrants still come in, as do seasonal workers but its more an issue in the American-Mexican border, though we get illegal immigrants coming through there as well, its just not widely publicized. Now its hard to get into Canada. You need a passport or military ID. But it wasn’t always like that.

      Considering the mess that Mexico is in, especially with the Drug Lord wars,..Lets just say I would be trying to get into the states in anyway I could if I was on the Mexican side. I read a part of a book about the illegal immigrants and seasonal workers and it was truly heartbreaking, the kind of poverty they live in.

      So there is my little rant. And people tell me racism doesn’t exist anymore? It’s evident EVERYWHERE.

  2. Thought of you after I woke this morning from a very detailed dream incorporating many nature and ritualistic elements! Unfortunately I sat down at my laptop too soon after waking, so the dream has fled, apart from some memories of ducks, trees, singing and buried treasure.

    • That sounds like a lovely dream! I hate when I can’t remember them. Like, that recent dream about talking to my deceased friend Laurie down at my old workplace. And just as I was about to tell her spirit what I needed help with, the dream ended. Talk about frustrating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

