Spring Equinox

Now. A return to my normal topics. I decided the step out of my shell and attend the Spring Equinox ritual with my Proto-Grove. I went even though I worried I wouldn’t no what to do once I was in the circle, and blanked on all the chants/songs that we sing. But hold on a moment. Song! In rituals! I thought that was more of a Christian characteristic. I have memories of standing in the Church pew trying to sing along to hymns in a book and failing miserably. So I guess not much has changed as far as that goes. But Faerys enjoy song, so I followed as best I could and rather liked it.

I think the best part was the drumming to wake up the Earth and Nature Spirits. I was a little timid, but I contributed too. Also best, was that I finally gave my Celtic promise ring back to the Nature Spirits. I told them I wouldn’t forget and likewise asked them not to forget their promise. It felt good. Like something deep and sacred happened. I want to work with Nature Spirits more, and I think I can because I was given “The Sight” and they communicate with me, in dreams and while I’m out in Nature. I’ve heard that most Faerys keep their promise. At least the good ones.

I spotted a Fey in my house this weekend. I was sitting here and something flashed across my keyboard, resembling a white large winged moth. Well, we still have wintry weather, there aren’t any bugs that I’ve seen, besides a few spiders and one fly. What I saw certainly wasn’t an insect. It happened in a flash but I could see that it was of Fey nature. I’ve been seeing things from the corner of my eyes too. I have seen the genius loci of the local small island where I’ve been walking almost every day, no matter how cold and icy. Yes. I got my lazy ass out of the house and am working on losing some weight…the extra pounds that developed from having an aversion to the frigid temperatures and snow of the North Country. I’m pretty certain I saw a female Gnome peeking from behind a tree.

I cannot begin to express my connection to the Fey (which is a big umbrella word for what I call the various Nature Spirits). It is like…something deeply rooted into who I am. My experiences. My memories. This began far before I had developed a mental illness. A psychic I use to know told me I had a family of Faerys that follow me around. I wonder if that is still true, and if I can try to work with them. I hadn’t thought about this in a long time, nor did I know then what I know now.

The first day of Spring is around the corner. We won’t be seeing single digits or anything below zero until next winter (we hope). I am ready to see some green! And go outside without a bulky winter coat. I bought a few tank-tops recently, and I am dying to try out some new outfits. Thank the Gods that my leg healed from the acute eczema. I wore leggings and long jeans most of the summer because my leg looked like I had skin cancer or like I was a leper. There are slight scars left behind.

In any case, due to the changing season, I will conclude this poorly written babble about the newest member to our goat family: Charlotte:

Image

The lighting comes from a heatlamp. She was born in 12 degree weather, outside of her mother’s shelter, laying on snow and ice. When she was found, she was immediately brought in and didn’t look good at all. She was still wet from birth. So we got a hairdryer and working on getting her temperature back up, which could take hours. After a while, she began to open her eyes and move. She fought it for a while, but was finally able to let out a bleat that was very loud and vocal which cleared her up to breathe better. Last I checked she was resting, but responsive to touch. She was still shivering, so we put a heated pad under her and placed a small towel over her beneath a heat lamp. I pray that she will make it through the night.

About Siofra |Nathifa|

A Druid and a Kemetic Pagan. I have studied Celtic Traditions, European Shamanism, the Fairy Faith, Native American Traditions, Wicca, Witchcraft and have explored New Age beliefs. I guess you could say I'm eclectic, but right now my focus is on Druidry and Kemetic Traditions. I am by no means, an expert in any of these interests. I am also a Bard in training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

